Theater in Washington, D.C.


Theater in Washington, D.C.

Theater companies and live theater venues in Washington, DC

Producing Theaters

*Adventure Theatre - [http://www.adventuretheatre.org/ website]
*Arena Stage at the Mead Center for American Theater (expected completion 2010) - [http://www.arenastage.org/ website]
**Fichandler Stage
**Kreeger Theater
**The Black Box Theater at Arena Stage
**The Cradle (expected completion 2010)
*Capital Fringe Festival, with annual, temporary venues - [http://www.capfringe.org website]
*Capitol Steps - [http://www.capsteps.com/ website]
*Charter Theatre, The at the Capital Hill Arts Workshop (CHAW) - [http://www.chartertheatre.org/ website]
*DC Improv- [http://www.dcimprov.com/ website]
*Discovery Theater at the Smithsonian Ripley Center - [http://www.discoverytheater.org/ website]
*Folger Theatre at the Elizabethan Theatre - [http://www.folger.edu/welcome.htm website]
*GALA Hispanic Theatre at the Tivoli Theater - [http://www.galatheatre.org/ website]
*Hexagon at the Duke Ellington School - [http://www.hexagon.org/ website]
*Histrio, A French Theater
*Rorschach Theatre - [http://www.rorschachtheatre.com/ website]
*Shakespeare Theatre Company at the Harman Center for the Arts - [http://www.shakespearetheatre.org/ website]
**Sidney Harman Hall
**Lansburgh Theatre
*St Mark's Players - [http://www.stmarksplayers.org website]
*Studio Theatre - [http://www.studiotheatre.org/ website]
**Mead Theatre
**Milton Theatre
**Metheny Theatre
**Stage 4
*Teatro de la Luna at Casa de la Luna - [http://www.teatrodelaluna.org/ website]
*Theater J at The Cecile Goldman Theater, Morris Cafritz Center for the Arts - [http://www.theaterj.org/ website]
*Theater of the First Amendment at George Mason University - [http://www.gmu.edu/cfa/tfa.html website]
*Washington Stage Guild - [http://stageguild.org/ website]
*Woolly Mammoth Theater - [http://www.woollymammoth.net/ website]

Presenting and Rental Theaters

*Atlas Performing Arts Center - [http://www.atlasarts.org website]
**Lang Theater
**Sprenger Theater
**Atlas Theater Lab 1
**Atlas Theater Lab 2
*Carter Barron Amphitheater - [http://www.nps.gov/rocr/planyourvisit/cbarron.htm website]
*Church Street Theater - [http://www.smart.net/~esm website]
*Corner Store, The - [http://www.krisswanson.net/ website]
*Dance Place - [http://www.danceplace.org website]
*DAR Constitution Hall - [http://www.dar.org/conthall website]
*D.C. Arts Center (DCAC) - [http://www.dcartscenter.org website]
*Ford's Theatre - [http://www.fordstheatre.org website]
*H Street Playhouse - [http://www.hstreetplayhouse.com/ website]
*Lisner Auditorium - [http://lisner.org website]
*Jack Guidone Theater at Joy of Motion Dance Center - [http://www.joyofmotion.org/perfsched.htm website]
*John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts - [http://www.kennedy-center.org website]
**Kennedy Center Concert Hall
**Kennedy Center Opera House
**Eisenhower Theater
**Family Theater
**Theater Lab
**Terrace Theater
**Millennium Stage
**KC Jazz Club
*Lincoln Theatre - [http://www.thelincolntheatre.org website]
*Mead Theatre Lab at Flashpoint - [http://www.flashpointtheatre.org website]
*Metro Cafe - [http://metrocafe.home.att.net/ website]
*National Theatre - [http://www.nationaltheatre.org website]
*National Sylvan Theater
*Source Theatre
*DeLaski Theater at the Sitar Arts Center - [http://www.sitarartscenter.org website]
*Town Hall Education, Arts & Recreation Campus (THEARC) Theater - [http://www.thearcdc.org/ website]
*Warehouse Theatre - [http://www.warehousetheater.com website]
**Mainstage
**Second Stage
*Warner Theatre - [http://www.warnertheater.com website]

Independent Companies

*Washington National Opera
*Ganymede Arts (formerly the Actors' Theatre of Washington) - [http://www.ganymedearts.org/ website]
*Catalyst Theater Company - [http://www.catalysttheater.org/ website]
*African Continuum Theatre Company - [http://www.africancontinuumtheatre.com/ website]
*Horizons Theatre - [http://www.horizonstheatre.org/ website]
*the In Series - [http://www.inseries.org/ website]
*Theater Alliance - [http://www.theateralliance.com/ website]
*Keegan Theatre - [http://www.keegantheatre.com/ website]
*SCENA Theatre - [http://www.scenatheatre.org/ website]
*Washington Improv Theater - [http://www.washingtonimprovtheater.com/ website]
*Arts United of Washington - [http://artsuniteddc.org website]
*Didactic Theatre Company - [http://www.didactictheatre.com/ website]
*MuseFire Productions - [http://www.musefire.org/ website]
*Spooky Action Theater - [http://www.spookyaction.org/ website]
*Omaemoda Productions - [http://www.youareinvolved.org/ website]
*Now This! - [http://www.nowthisimprov.com/ website]
*Banished? Productions - [http://www.banishedproductions.org/ website]
*Bouncing Ball Theatrical Productions - [http://bouncingballtheatre.com/ website]
*Constellation Theatre Company - [http://www.constellationtheatre.com/ website]
*Forum Theatre (DC) - [http://www.forumtheatredc.org/ website]
*Journeymen Theater Ensemble - [http://www.journeymentheater.org/ website]
*The Landless Theatre Company - [http://www.landlesstheatrecompany.org/ website]
*Longacre Lea Productions - [http://www.longacrelea.org/ website]
*Madcap Players - [http://www.madcapplayers.com website]
*Open Circle Theatre - [http://www.opencircletheatre.org/ website]
*The Rude Mechanicals - [http://www.rudemechanicals.com/ website]
*Serenity Players - [http://www.serenityplayers.org/ website]
*Solas Nua - [http://www.solasnua.org/ website]
*Taffety Punk Theatre Company - [http://www.taffetypunk.com/ website]
*Venus Theatre Company - [http://www.venustheatre.org/ website]
*Washington Savoyards - [http://www.savoyards.org/ website]
*Yams Theatre, Inc. - [http://www.yamstheatre.org/home website]
*Young Playwrights' Theater - [http://www.yptdc.org/ website]

Educational Theater

*Harold and Sylvia Greenberg Theatre, American University
*Katzen Arts Center, American University
**Abramson Family Recital Hall
**Studio Theatre
*Hartke Theatre, Catholic University of America
*Elstad Auditorium, Gallaudet University
*Dorothy Betts Marvin Theatre, George Washington University
*Royden B. Davis, S.J. Performing Arts Center, Georgetown University
**Gonda Theatre
**Devine Studio Theatre
*Walsh Black Box, Georgetown University
*Poulton Hall, Georgetown University
*Fine Arts Complex, Howard University
**Ira Aldridge Theater
**Environmental Theatre Space (ETS)
*Auditorium, University of the District of Columbia

Theater Organizations

*League of Washington Theaters
*Cultural Alliance of Greater Washington
*Dance/Metro DC

Theater Awards

*Helen Hayes Awards
*Mary Goldwater Award
*Offstage Honors ("The Offies")
*Richard Bauer Award
*Ruby Griffith Award
*Usher's Favorite Show Award
*Washington Area Theater Community Honors (WATCH Awards)

External links

* [http://www.potomacstages.com/ Potomac Stages]
* [http://www.dctheatrescene.com/ DC Theatre Scene]


Wikimedia Foundation. 2010.

Look at other dictionaries:

  • Coliseum Theater (Seattle, Washington) — Coliseum Theater U.S. National Register of Historic Places …   Wikipedia

  • Fox Theater (Spokane, Washington) — For other uses, see Fox Theatre (disambiguation). Fox Theater or Martin Woldson Theater At The Fox U.S. National Register of Historic Places …   Wikipedia

  • Rialto Theater (Tacoma, Washington) — Infobox nrhp | name =Rialto Theater nrhp type = caption = location= 310 Ninth St., Tacoma, Washington lat degrees = 47 lat minutes = 15 lat seconds = 18 lat direction = N long degrees = 122 long minutes = 26 long seconds = 24 long direction = W… …   Wikipedia

  • Theater in the United States — Theater of the United States is based in the Western tradition, mostly borrowed from the performance styles prevalent in Europe. Fact|date: September 14, 2008|date=September 2008 Regional or resident theatres in the United States are professional …   Wikipedia

  • Washington, D.C. — This article is about the place. For the novel, see Washington, D.C. (novel). Washington, D.C.   Federal district   …   Wikipedia

  • Washington, D.C. in the American Civil War — President Lincoln insisted that construction of the United States Capitol continue during the Civil War. As capital of the United States, the federal district of Washington, D.C., became a significant civilian leadership, military headquarters,… …   Wikipedia

  • Theater of the United States — This article is about stage theater in the United States. For information about the movie industry, see Cinema of the United States. Theater of the United States AK AL AR AS AZ CA CO CT DC DE FL GA GU HI IA ID IL IN KS KY LA MA MD ME MI …   Wikipedia

  • Washington County High School (Georgia) — Infobox Secondary school name = Washington County High School native name = motto = established = 1959 city = Sandersville state = Georgia province = country = United States campus = type = Public gender = coeducational affiliations = president …   Wikipedia

  • Washington Improv Theater — or WIT, is an improv comedy group and school based in Washington, D.C..Washington Improv Theater was founded in 1986 by Carole Douglis, and then was disbanded in 1992. Three years later, Douglis started training a new cohort of improvisors, some …   Wikipedia

  • Theater J — is a professional theater company located in Washington, DC dedicated to presenting works that celebrate the distinctive urban voice and social vision that are part of the Jewish cultural legacy . [cite web |url=http://washingtondcjcc.org/center… …   Wikipedia


Share the article and excerpts

Direct link
Do a right-click on the link above
and select “Copy Link”

We are using cookies for the best presentation of our site. Continuing to use this site, you agree with this.