List of parks in Louisville, Kentucky


List of parks in Louisville, Kentucky

Following is a list of parks, forests and nature preserves in the metropolitan area of Louisville, Kentucky:

Louisville Metro (Jefferson County)

Olmsted Park System

The Olmsted Park System in Louisville was the last of five such systems designed by Frederick Law Olmsted. [ [http://www.olmstedparks.org/ Louisville Olmsted Parks Conservancy] ] All of the parks in this system are managed by Louisville Metro Parks.

;Flagship
*Cherokee Park
*Iroquois Park
*Shawnee Park

;Other parks
*Algonquin Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/algonquin/]
*Baxter Square [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/baxtersquare/]
*Bingham Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/bingham/] — Originally known as Clifton Park
*Boone Square
*Central Park
*Chickasaw Park
*Churchill Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/churchill/]
*Elliott Square [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/elliott/]
*Seneca Park
*Shelby Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/shelby/]
*William B. Stansbury Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/stansbury/] — Originally known as Third Street Playground
*Tyler Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/tyler/]
*Victory Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/victory/]
*Wayside Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/wayside/]
*Willow Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/willow/] — Originally part of the main entrance to Cherokee Park

;Parkways
*Algonquin Parkway
*Eastern Parkway
*Northwestern Parkway
*Southern Parkway
*Southwestern Parkway

Other parks managed by Louisville Metro Parks

*35th Street Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/35thstreet/]
*Auburndale Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/auburndale/]
*Ballard Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/ballard/]
*Eva Bandman Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/bandman/]
*Beargrass Creek Greenway at Irish Hill [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/beargrasscreekgreenway/]
*Beechmont Tot Lot [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/beechmont/]
*Bellevue Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/bellevue/]
*Berrytown Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/berrytown/]
*Black Mudd Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/blackmudd/]
*Blue Lick Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/bluelick/]
*Bradley Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/bradley/]
*Breslin Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/breslin/]
*William Britt Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/britt/]
*Buechel Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/buechel/]
*California Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/california/]
*Camp Taylor Memorial Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/camptaylor/]
*Cane Run Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/canerun/]
*Caperton Swamp [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/caperton/]
*Castlewood Open Space [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/castlewood/]
*George Rogers Clark Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/clark/]
*Cliff Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/cliff/]
*Clifton Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/clifton/]
*Carrie Gaulbert Cox Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/cox/]
*Joe Creason Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/creason/]
*Crescent Hill Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/crescenthill/]
*Crosby Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/crosby/]
*Des Pres Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/despres/]
*Douglass Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/douglass/]
*Dumeyer Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/dumeyer/]
*Eastover Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/eastover/]
*Eastwood Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/eastwood/]
*Fairmount Falls Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/fairmountfalls/]
*Farman Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/farman/]
*Farnsley Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/farnsley/]
*Fern Creek Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/ferncreek/]
*Fisherman's Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/fishermans/]
*Flaget Field Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/flagetfield/]
*Floyd's Fork Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/floydsfork/]
*German-Paristown Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/germanparistown/]
*Gnadinger Park
*William Harrison Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/harrison/]
*Highview Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/highview/]
*Nelson Hornbeck Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/hornbeck/]
*Hounz Lane Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/hounzlane/]
*Irish Hill Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/irishhill/]
*Louis B. Israel Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/israel/]
*Ivy Court Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/ivycourt/]
*Jefferson Memorial Forest — Largest municipal urban forest in the U.S., operated as a park by Metro Parks
*Kennedy Court Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/kennedycourt/]
*Hays Kennedy Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/kennedy/]
*Klondike Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/klondike/]
*Kulmer Reserve [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/kulmer/]
*Lake Dreamland Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/lakedreamland/]
*Lampton Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/lampton/]
*Lannan Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/lannan/]
*LaPorte Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/laporte/]
*Russell Lee Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/lee/]
*Liberty Bell Playground [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/libertybell/]
*Locust Grove — Historic home and residence of George Rogers Clark
*Long Run Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/longrun/]
*Louisville Extreme Park
*Louisville Champions Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/soccerpark/] (Future)
*Magnolia Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/magnolia/]
*McNeely Lake Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/mcneelylake/]
*Medora Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/medora/]
*Memorial Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/memorial/]
*William F. Miles Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/miles/]
*G.G. Moore Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/moore/]
*Nightingale Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/nightingale/]
*Norfolk Acres Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/norfolkacres/]
*Okolona Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/okolona/]
*Old Walnut/Beecher Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/oldwalnutbeecher/]
*Parkhill Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/parkhill/]
*Patterson Playground [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/patterson/]
*PeeWee Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/peewee/]
*Petersburg Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/petersburg/]
*Portland Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/portland/]
*Portland Wharf Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/portlandwharf/]
*Huston Quin Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/quin/]
*Ginny Reichard Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/reichard/]
*Riverside Gardens Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/riverside/]
*Riverside, The Farnsley-Moremen Landing — Historic home and river landing
*Riverview Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/riverview/]
*Roberson Run Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/roberson/]
*Rubel Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/rubel/]
*A.B. Sawyer Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/sawyer/]
*Sheppard Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/sheppard/]
*Slevin Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/slevin/]
*South Central Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/southcentral/]
*St. Louis Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/stlouis/]
*Story Avenue Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/storyavenue/]
*Sun Valley Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/sunvalley/]
*Sylvania Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/sylvania/]
*E. Leland Taylor (Jewell) Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/taylor/]
*Thurman Hutchins Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/thurmanhutchins/]
*Toonerville Trolley Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/toonervilletrolley/]
*Twin Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/twin/]
*Charlie Vettiner Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/vettiner/]
*Ben Washer Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/washer/]
*Watterson Lake Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/wattersonlake/]
*Waverly Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/waverly/] — Includes the 9-hole Bobby Nichols Golf Course
*Westonia Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/westonia/]
*Wyandotte Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/wyandotte/]
*Charles Young Park [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/parks/young/]

Parks not managed by Louisville Metro Parks

*Auburn Park (Jeffersontown)
*Beargrass Creek State Nature Preserve
*Blackacre State Nature Preserve
*Bowling Park (St. Matthews)
*Brown Park (St. Matthews)
*Dayton Avenue Park (St. Matthews)
*Arthur K. Draut Park (St. Matthews)
*Fort Nelson Park
*Founder's Square
*Garvin Brown Nature Preserve
*Jefferson Square
*Louisville Waterfront Park
*Riverfront Plaza/Belvedere
*Robison Park (Lyndon)
*St. Matthews Park/Community Center
*E. P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park
*Shively Park (Shively)
*Six Mile Island State Nature Preserve
*Skyview Park (Jeffersontown)
*Veterans Memorial Park (Jeffersontown)
*Warwick Park (St. Matthews)

Kentucky metropolitan counties outside of Jefferson

Bullitt

*Bernheim Arboretum and Research Forest

Meade

*Otter Creek Park — Operated by Louisville Metro Parks

Nelson

*My Old Kentucky Home State Park

Oldham

*John T. Walsh Park (La Grange)
*Wendell Moore Park (Buckner)
*Wilborn Park (La Grange)
*Yew Dell Gardens (Crestwood)
*Creasy Mahan Nature Preserve (Goshen)
*Community Convention and Acquatic Center (Buckner)

pencer

*Taylorsville Lake State Park — includes Taylorsville Lake, which extends into Nelson and Anderson Counties.

Indiana metropolitan counties

Clark

;Jeffersonville parks and recreation [http://www.jeffparks.org/]
*Bob Hedge Park
*Colston Park
*Connie Seller Park
*Highland Park
*John Wilcoxson Park
*Lansden Park
*Lottie Oglesby Park
*Meijer Little League Fields
*Oak Park
*Optimist Park
*Port Fulton Park
*Shannon Memorial Park
*Shirley Hall Park
*Vissing Park
*Warder Park
*Wathen Park

;Clarksville parks and recreation [http://www.clarksvilleparks.com/]
*Ashland Park
*Beechwood Park
*Cedar Park
*Colgate Park
*Gaskell Park
*Lapping Park
*Little League Park
*Midway Park
*Moser Park
*Parkwood Park
*Ray Lawrence Park

;Others and state parks
*Perrin Park — Privately owned; located in Jeffersonville
*Charlestown State Park
*Clark State Forest
*Falls of the Ohio State Park

Harrison

*Harrison-Crawford State Forest
*Hayswood Nature Reserve

ee also

*City of Parks
*Cityscape of Louisville, Kentucky
*Geography of Louisville, Kentucky
*List of attractions and events in Louisville, Kentucky
*Louisville neighborhoods

References

External links

* [http://www.louisvilleky.gov/MetroParks/default.htm Louisville Metro Parks]
* [http://www.olmstedparks.org/ Olmsted Parks Conservancy]
* [http://www.oldhamcountychamber.com/marinas.html Oldham County Parks]
* [http://www.jeffparks.org/ Jeffparks.org]
* [http://www.clarksvilleparks.com/ Clarksvilleparks.com]


Wikimedia Foundation. 2010.

Look at other dictionaries:

  • Louisville, Kentucky — Louisville redirects here. For other uses, see Louisville (disambiguation). Louisville   Consolidated city county   Louisville Jefferson County Metro Government …   Wikipedia

  • List of attractions and events in Louisville, Kentucky — This is a list of notable visitor attractions and annual events in the Louisville metropolitan area.Annual festivals and other events*100 Years on the Ohio River [http://www.fallslanding.org/] , historical re enactment at Riverside, The Farnsley… …   Wikipedia

  • Louisville, Kentucky — Louisville (Kentucky) Pour les articles homonymes, voir Louisville. Louisville …   Wikipédia en Français

  • Louisville (Kentucky) — Pour les articles homonymes, voir Louisville. 38° 15′ 15″ N 85° 45′ 37″ W …   Wikipédia en Français

  • Cityscape of Louisville, Kentucky — Louisville skyline at night Louisville, Kentucky is home to numerous structures that are noteworthy due to their architectural characteristics or historic associations, the most noteworthy being the Old Louisville neighborhood, the third largest… …   Wikipedia

  • History of Louisville, Kentucky — The history of Louisville, Kentucky spans hundreds of years, and has been influenced by the area s unique geography and location.Pre settlement history (pre 1778)Although Kentucky was inhabited by Native Americans in prehistoric times, when white …   Wikipedia

  • Media in Louisville, Kentucky — Vans of the 3 major news broadcasts in Louisville covering an event at 4th Street Live! This is a list of media publications and sources in Louisville, Kentucky. Contents 1 Newspapers and ma …   Wikipedia

  • Louisville neighborhoods — The fountain at St. James Court in Old Louisville This is a list of official neighborhoods in Louisville, Kentucky. Like many older American cities, Louisville has well defined neighborhoods, many with well over a century of history as a… …   Wikipedia

  • Louisville Loop — The Louisville Loop is a bike and pedestrian trail which will circle the city of Louisville, Kentucky when completed. It is part of a project known as City of Parks, which will also add thousands of acres of parkland in the city, using the trail… …   Wikipedia

  • Louisville Extreme Park — The Louisville Extreme Park is a 40,000 square foot (3,700 m²) public skatepark located in downtown Louisville, Kentucky. It opened on April 5, 2002, and gained national recognition after the release of Tony Hawk s Secret Skatepark Tour, in which …   Wikipedia


Share the article and excerpts

Direct link
Do a right-click on the link above
and select “Copy Link”

We are using cookies for the best presentation of our site. Continuing to use this site, you agree with this.